Skip to content

Search from site

Type your search terms and select from the suggestions or click the search button to move to the search page.

    Over EUR 204 million COVID-19 subsidies for companies operating in the Pirkanmaa region

    colorful pispala laura vanzo 4
    Visit Tampere / Laura Vanzo

    Business Tampere and the Pirkanmaa Association investigated the amounts of corona subsidies for companies operating in Pirkanmaa and the Tampere metropolitan area. The total amount of aid is significant.

    A total of more than EUR 204 million (EUR 204,183,381) in interest subsidies has been paid to companies operating in Pirkanmaa, of which more than EUR 164 million (EUR 164,076,632) is accounted for by companies operating in the Tampere metropolitan area. The calculation includes subsidies and compensations paid by 8 June 2021.

    The total amount consists of the following subsidies and compensations for companies: closure compensation, rebates and subsidies for catering companies, ELY development grant, cost subsidy rounds 1 and 2, subsidies for sole proprietors, Business Finland corona subsidies, unemployment subsidies for entrepreneurs April 2020 to April 2021 and subsidies for rural enterprises and temporary fisheries aid.

    About half of the subsidies allocated to Pirkanmaa, EUR 101,367,601, have come from COVID-19 grants granted by Business Finland to companies. Companies operating in urban municipalities account for EUR 85,000,303 of Business Finland's grants.

    - The COVID-19 pandemic set off a record number of corporate business development projects in the Tampere region. The development must also be supported in the future and it must be ensured that companies that implement development projects financed by Business Finland, for example, implement the necessary new investments, says Niina Immonen, the Director of Business Development and Operating Environment at Business Tampere.

    Check out the municipality-specific corona support data here (in Finnish).

    The Tampere metropolitan area includes the municipalities of Tampere, Kangasala, Lempäälä, Nokia, Orivesi, Pirkkala, Vesilahti and Ylöjärvi.

    Data sources: ELY, KEHA, KELA, Business Finland, the State Treasury and municipalities have been used in the calculation.

    Back to top